There is nothing we love more than celebrating Long Service Awards with our incredible volunteers – and we were overjoyed this year to be able to invite everyone back to the hospices in person.

We had 84 awards to present ranging from three years to 30 years, and covering every area of our charity from fundraising to gardening, and from trustees to our charity shop teams.

The 30 year award went to Daphne Mathias who helped to found our Llanfyllin Friends Group, while  25 year awards were presented to fundraisers Ken Arch MBE and Kicki Rouse; and Enid Toft, Sioned Edwards, Carys Williams and Liz Williams from our Ruthin Friends Group.

Everyone who was able to join us at Hope House and Tŷ Gobaith to receive their awards in person heard moving talks from mums Susie Seymour and Nerys Davies about the impact receiving respite care for their young sons has had on their families.


After being presented with their certificates by vice chair of trustees Barbara Evans, herself a volunteer for 33 years and one of our founders, our volunteers enjoyed an afternoon tea and a tour of the hospices to see more of what their selfless volunteering makes possible.

Our Chief Executive Andy Goldsmith paid tribute to their talents and thanked them all so much for their gift of time to the children and families.

“We have almost 500 active volunteers and if you add up all the hours that you donate to Hope House and Tŷ Gobaith every year that equates to around £725,000 worth of time,” said Andy.

 "Everything that you do, whether that is sorting and selling donations of our stock in our shops, or helping at events, or tending the gardens at the hospices, directly translates into providing more care for more children and families.

'Without all of you we would not have Hope House and Tŷ Gobaith. We need you so that the vital care can be here for every child and family who needs us now and in the future. Thank you for making everything possible.”

This year’s full list of recipients includes: 

Bangor Shop: Silvia Podolini (5 years)

Bridgnorth Shop: Heather Barr (5 years)

Chester Shop: Pauline Williams (3 years); Sandra Allman (10 years)

Christleton Friends Group: Celia Evans (15 years); Kerry Christmas (15 years)

Church Stretton Friends Group: Marilyn Evans (20 years)

Church Stretton Shop: Jo Bate (3 years); Ruth Trow (5 years); Ruth Jenkins, John Nelson and Shelly Jones (10 years)

Crewe Friends Group: Debbie Bilotta (10 years)

Denbigh Shop: Chris Johnson and James Morgan (3 years); Alison Bromley (5 years)

Flint Shop: Helen Moulton, Jean Warne, Valerie Shaw, Jane Blackwell and Debbie Newbegin (3 years)

Fundraising Administration: Sarah Quick (5 years)

Fundraising: Anne Ashton (3 years), Karen Penney and Helen George (10 years); Kicki Rouse and Ken Arch MBE (25 years)

Hope House Gardener: Linda Evans (5 years)

Llandudno Shop: Sarah Edward (3 years); Penny Rogers, Kathleen Hammond, Ann Lancaster, Dilys Jones, Margaret Jones, Susan Bell and Earl Starkie (5 years)

Llanfyllin Friends Group: Daphne Mathias (30 years)

Llyn Peninsula Friends Group: Hywel Jones and Jennifer Jones (5 years); Julia Griffiths (15 years)

Ludlow Shop: Jenny Vaughan (10 years); Pat Hansen and Judith Mulliner (20 years)

Mold and Buckley Friends Group: Meryl Hayes (20 years)

Nantwich Shop: Andrew Ward and Jennifer Bourne (5 years); Elizabeth Pass, Irene Williamson and Allison Evemy (10 years); Joy Marriott (20 years)

Oswestry Shop: Mary Trow, Gill Hill and Cameron Paull (3 years); Alwena Evans, Irene Edwards, Margaret Morris, Mary Owens and Diana Barnes (10 years); Diane Seager (20 years)

Ruthin Friends Group: Anwen Jones (15 years); Enid Toft, Sioned Edwards, Carys Williams and Liz Williams (25 years)

Shrewsbury Harlescott Shop: Sonia Clayton and Julie Jones (3 years)

Shrewsbury Oteley Road Shop: Roger Pittaway, Sue Hill and Valerie Taylor (3 years); Keith Roberts (5 years)

Retail Stock Collector: Bryan Davis (5 years)

Telford Events Group: Clare Pitchford, Lesley Herrington, Charlotte Barker and Sarah Dickson (10 years)

Tŷ Gobaith Gardener: Elwyn Roberts (15 years)

Trustees: Graeme Harkness, Andrew Morris, Gary Morton and Kelly Stant (3 years)

Tywyn Friends Group: Trina Hawkes and Anita Inman (3 years); Gladys Jones and Dennis Jones (15 years)

Welshpool Shop: Tasmin Morris and Carol Lloyd (3 years); Janet Richards (15 years)