More than 100 awards have been presented to our incredible volunteers who have been donating their time to Hope House Children’s Hospices for 3, 5, 10, 15, 20 and even 25 years!

Six hundred volunteers regularly help us with all aspects of our work, including in our charity shops, fundraising and at Hope House and Tŷ Gobaith.

This year 114 volunteers reached a landmark, and were invited to special Volunteering Award ceremonies at Tŷ Gobaith and and Hope House so that we could thank them in person for their incredible dedication. Volunteers who weren’t able to join us on the days received their awards by post.

Our Chief Executive Andy Goldsmith told the gathered guests: “Time is the most precious commodity.

“By choosing to give your time to Hope House and Tŷ Gobaith you make it possible for us to raise the money needed to support and care for local children with life-threatening conditions. We cannot thank you enough for your gift of time.”

Awards were made to:

Abergele Friends Group: Jackie Tetlow (3 years).

Bangor Shop: Thomas Kirkham (5).

Corwen Friends Group: Sheila Hughes and Lynn Hughes (both 3).

Denbigh Shop: Margaret Raba, Maelon Rogers, Phillip Smith, Jean Stonebridge and Rhian Williams (all 3).

Llandudno Shop: Elly Heyes (15), Janel Daniels (10), Jean Baybutt (5), Lyn Huggins and Karen Higgins (both 3).

Llyn Peninsula Friends Group: Laura Wyn Roberts, Marian Williams, Brenda and Berwyn Williams, Anna Jones, Janet Hughes, and Jean Griffith (all 15); Margaret Roberts, Carol Jones, Doris Jones, Myfanwy Humphreys and Angharad Chidley Willliams (all 10 ); Irene Larkey, Dwynwen Jones, Cath Hughes and Janice Hughes (all 3 )

Mold and Buckley Friends Group: Judi Byrne (10).

Porthmadog & Penrhyndeudraeth Friends Group: Barbara Heys MBE, Margaret Humphreys, Jane Johnson, Miriam Startin, Marian Williams, Elwyn and Elspeth Thomas (all 15).

Ruthin Friends Group: Edna Williams, Morfydd Williams and Eleanor Pugh (all 20) and Gruff Richards (15).

Tywyn Friends Group: Gill Ray (10), Marie and Richie Owens (both 5) and Catherine Evans (3).

Wrexham Badge Agent: John Matthews (20).

Wrexham Friends Group: Adreene Parry and Sheila Warner (both 10), Angela Whilding (5), Stephanie Blything, Ffion Jones and Kate Price (all 3).

Wrexham Shop: Alma Moss (10).

Chester Shop: Joan Haycock and Margaret Hickman (both 15), Gary Smith (10), Carol Porter, Ruth Sheene and Mary Wallace (all 3).

Nantwich Shop: Barbara Green (10), Thomas Bateman (5), Samantha Owen and Dominic Holton-Clarke (both 3).

Bridgnorth Shop: Michelle Bowker (3) and Maureen Bray (5).

Church Stretton Friends Group: Sue Jones and Daphne Rankine (both 10).

Church Stretton Shop: Barbara Holden, Margaret Tomlins and Denise Woodhouse (all 5).

Ellesmere Friends Group: Debbie Hayward, Averil Macdonald, Ken Rogers, Karen Ward and Anne Wignall (all 15), and Jean Maddock (10).

Ludlow Friends Group: Kathleen Norgrove (15), Marilyn Heath (10) and Bridget Nye (5).

Ludlow Shop: Jenny Throssell, Hazel Smout and Pat Jones (all 15), Ann Moody (10) and Angela Griffiths (3).

Oswestry Events Group: Ann Grover (10).

Oswestry Shop: Rosemary Roberts (20), Marie Sparkes (15) and Gwyneth Morgan (5).

Shrewsbury Shop: Janet Weaver and Beryl Higgins (both 20), Angela Williams (15), Cindy Townson (10), Lynn Spensley and Jeremy Clayton (both 5), Cynthia Lewis and Beryl Askew (both 3).

Shrewsbury Furniture Shop: Martin Welch (3).

Wellington Shop: Cheryl Corbett (10) and Ruth Smart (5).

Llandrindod Wells Friends Group: Pat Harrison (10).

Llanfyllin Friends Group: Audrey Jones (25) and Annette Griffiths (20).

Welshpool Shop: Shirley Craig (10), Denise Corke (5), Ann Hingley and Joyce Evans (both 3).

Trustees Phil Inch and Janette Welch (both 25 years).

General Fundraising Volunteers: Edward Jones, Avril Jones and June Edwards (all 15), Lynda Jones and Dave Williams (both 10)

Inspired? Find out more about volunteering opportunities here..